St David’s Day Beard of Wales poll sees triumphs for MP Paul Flynn & musician Chris Fox

In Uncategorized on March 1, 2017 by kmflett

Beard Liberation Front

Press release, 28th February

Contact Keith Flett 07803 167266

St David’s Day Beard of Wales poll sees triumphs for MP Paul Flynn and musician Chris Fox



The Beard Liberation Front, the informal network of beard wearers, has said that the annual St David’s Day Beard of Wales poll, has concluded with 2015 winner Chris Fox, a member of the ‘socialist R’n’B band Thee Faction’, heading the poll for a second time and Newport MP Paul Flynn running in second.

The veteran Welsh Labour MP Paul Flynn shot into the lead in the poll after leading on opposition to Donald Trump’s State Visit to the UK in a Westminster Hall debate last week, but Fox’s formidable fan base saw him over the line.

It is Mr Flynn’s highest ever position in the Beard of Wales poll and may suggest he is well placed to finally win the accolade in 2018.

The poll aims to determine the St David’s Day Beard of Wales, the Welsh beard that offers the most positive national image.

The campaigners say that Images of St David suggest that the Welsh Saint himself may have had an organic beard

Welsh rugby prop Adam Jones won the Award in 2013, voted for by BLF supporters, just shaving former Archbishop of Canterbury Rowan Williams. Another rugby player Leigh Halfpenny won in 2014. In 2015 the Award went to Thee Faction musician Chris Fox and in 2016 footballer Joe Ledley

It is only the fifth time the Award has been given following the traditional UK Beard of the Year at the end December each year and the BLF says it is a mark of Wales as a modern nation on St David’s Day that beards are now playing an increasingly significant role in national life.

BLF Organiser Keith Flett said there is a certain left of political centre flavour to the winners of the Beard of Wales poll this year, perhaps not unrelated to the invariably clean shaven inhabitant of the White House, President Trump.

Beard of Wales 2017 Nominations

Jake Ball, rugby player

Illtud Llyr Dunsford, Charcutier

Paul Flynn-Parliamentarian

Chris Fox- musician

Richard Harrington, Y Gwyll actor

Tom Jones- musician

Joe Ledley, footballer

Gruff Rhys- musician


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: