John Holder on Test Match Special ‘Ask the Umpire’ rules a players beard is under their control. Correct?

In Uncategorized on June 24, 2022 by kmflett

It was good to see Ask the Umpire back on Test Match Special for the first time since 2019 (covid access issues). It’s available as a podcast on BBC Sounds.

Veteran Umpire John Holder answers questions sent in by listeners focused on the rules of cricket. Often quite odd ones and the Beard Liberation Front never misses a chance to raise a point.

We asked if a player with a luxuriant beard had dived to take a catch but it wasn’t clear if the ball was grounded on TV replays would be a player be out if the ball was lodged in the beard and therefore not on the ground.

John Holder ruled that the beard was part of the player and under their control so the batsman would be not out as the ball would be grounded in the beard.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: