Scientists win People’s Vote for Beard of the Year for the first time

In Uncategorized on December 28, 2018 by kmflett

Beard Liberation Front

Media Release 27th December

Contact Keith Flett 07803 16726

Scientists win People’s Vote for Beard of the Year for first time

The Beard Liberation Front the informal network of beard wearers, has said that after a record vote for the Beard of the Year 2018 the Electoral College has determined that two scientists are the winners. TV doctor Xand Van Tulleken and cosmologist Peter Coles currently at Maynooth University in Ireland shared the Award.

The campaigners say that both the winners had an enthusiastic voting constituency and taking into account the public impact of their beards it was felt a shared title was appropriate this year.

Moreover the fact that both have a scientific background for the first time reflects the growing reach of beard wearing.

Manchester brewer Al Wall of leading craft brewery Cloudwater was runner up with last year’s winner Jeremy Corbyn third.

The 8 names who entered the Electoral College following the People’s Vote were:

Peter Coles

Xand van Tulleken

Al Wall

Philip Glanville

Jeremy Corbyn

Owen Tudor

Moeen Ali

Raheem Sterling

The BLF say that the shortlist comprised those whose beard had a positive impact in the public eye during the year rather than the style or the length of the beard or the views of the beard wearer.

BLF Organiser Keith Flett said, not only did two scientists share the award for the first time but the runner up Al Wall as a craft brewer, is very much concerned with brewing science as well.

For the first time this year the result was determined by a combination of the public vote and an Electoral College of leading beard wearers and pogonophiles. The public vote counted for 60% while the Electoral College took into account the wider positive public image and impact of poll leaders.

The BLF says that there were concerns about the impact of Bots in the 2017 poll and the Electoral College ensures a more level playing field.

Beard of the Year 2018 Shortlist

Jeremy Corbyn, politician

Peter Coles, scientist

Xand van Tulleken, TV doctor

Prince Harry, Royal personage

Moeen Ali, cricketer

Harry Kane, footballer

Lenny Henry, actor

Philip Ardagh, author

Al Wall, brewer, Cloudwater

Idris Elba, actor

Philip Glanville, Mayor of Hackney

Daniel Vane, brewer, Hale Brewing

Lloyd Russell-Moyle, Labour MP

Owen Tudor, Deputy General Secretary, International Trade Union Confederation

Raheem Sterling, footballer

7 Responses to “Scientists win People’s Vote for Beard of the Year for the first time”

  1. Reblogged this on In the Dark and commented:
    Well, I won Beard of the Year 2018 (jointly). Thanks to all who voted for me!

  2. Reblogged this on WELCOME TO MY BLOG.

  3. […] find more than adequate compensation, however, in the award of Beard of the Year 2018. I was presented with the Certificate in Tiny Rebel Cardiff by Beard Liberation Front organiser and […]

  4. […] a recent winner of Beard of the Year I feel it is important to point out that because I have a full beard, I never use Gilette shaving […]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: