Articles

Young’s Winter Warmer: it’s alive

In Uncategorized on December 13, 2016 by kmflett

Young’s Winter Warmer: it’s alive

youngs-winter-warmer-2252-p

Update 13th December

Taking note of comments I was in Wimbledon recently and stopped by the vast Young’s pub near the station, the Alexandra. There indeed on hand pub was Young’s Winter Warmer at 5%. Tasting a half it was a little cold to start but on warming did taste decently like the usual WW beer. A further thought ocurred at that point. It would be interesting to see what the beer is like in keykeg format. Anyway it is good news that this classic London winter beer is still indeed with us. Try it if you can find it

It has occurred to me as I see an increasing number of absurd false bearded Santas wandering around that it is the season for that classic beer, Youngs Winter Warmer.

I wrote about it last year here:

https://kmflett.wordpress.com/2015/12/15/youngs-winter-warmer-a-survivor-from-londons-beer-drinking-past/

Popping into the same Young’s pub, the Paternoster by the Stock Exchange, the other day I saw no Winter Warmer on the bar however so I asked. The bar person told me that a pump clip that was labelled Christmas Ale 4.5% was indeed Winter Warmer just badged for the pub.

I ordered a half pint (it was lunchtime and I was off over the road to do some union negotiations) for £2.20. Winter Warmer has been 5% for as long as I can recall so my immediate reaction was one of some doubt.

Anyway on tasting the beer was in good condition and did indeed taste much like Winter Warmer.

No, have no idea either and I will continue to keep an eye when passing Youngs Pub Co outlets to see if the traditional 5% WW is actually still about or if in the hands of Wells, as the beer now is, things have changed.

 

2 Responses to “Young’s Winter Warmer: it’s alive”

  1. Hi, I’m pretty sure that Winter Warmer is still going strong, and the staff at the Paternoster were misinformed as the Christmas Ale is a different beer entirely (however, each Young’s pub has its own unique pumpclip for this beer). The WW should have a dark amber colour at 5% and the Christmas Ale far paler and at 4.5%

    *I previously worked for the brewer (Charles Wells)

  2. Andy, thanks. An informative comment. Time allowing I may check further

Leave a Reply

