Corbyn wins Parliamentary Beard of the Year Award for a record Seventh time

In Uncategorized on December 9, 2016 by kmflett

Beard Liberation Front

Media Release

8th December

Contact Keith Flett 07803 167266

Corbyn wins Parliamentary Beard Award for a record Seventh time


The Beard Liberation Front the informal network of beard wearers has said that Labour leader Jeremy Corbyn has won the vote for Parliamentary Beard of the Year, a record 7th victory since the annual contest started in 2001.

Mirroring his recent re-election as Labour leader the Islington North MP took over half the poll.

The Runner up was Chris Elmore a newcomer to the Parliamentary Beard of the Year being elected for Ogmore in May 2016. Mr Elmore surged to an early lead but was unable to sustain his advantage after Jeremy Corbyn supporters made their impact.

Third was veteran Labour Peer Lord Toby Harris, the highest position ever achieved in the poll by a member of the Upper House

In 2015 Labour Leader Jeremy Corbyn just shaved SNP MP Steward McDonald for the coveted title but Mr McDonald declined to compete this year after trimming his beard.

The campaigners say that the award is specifically not about who has the best or most magnificent beard in Parliament. Rather it focuses on the MP or Peer who has made the most positive hirsute impact during the year.

BLF Organiser Keith Flett said, we congratulate Jeremy Corbyn on his victory. His beard as demonstrated a sustainability and resilience over decades of being am MP.


Chris Elmore (Labour)

Paul Flynn (Labour)

Jeremy Corbyn (Labour)

Kelvin Hopkins (Labour)

Lord Hylton (Crossbencher)

Lord Toby Harris (Labour)

Michael Gove (Tory)

Stephen Crabb (Tory)

Rob Wilson (Tory)

John Spellar (Labour)


Recent winners

2011 Jeremy Corbyn


2012 Jeremy Corbyn/John Randall

2013 Julian Huppert

2014 Jeremy Corbyn

2015 Jeremy Corbyn


One Response to “Corbyn wins Parliamentary Beard of the Year Award for a record Seventh time”

  1. THE WINNER is JEREMY CORBYN eat your heart out Mrs May!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: