Articles

Whither Winter Warmer?

In Uncategorized on November 24, 2016 by kmflett

youngs-winter-warmer-2252-p

It has occurred to me as I see an increasing number of absurd false bearded Santas wandering around that it is the season for that classic beer, Youngs Winter Warmer.

I wrote about it last year here:

https://kmflett.wordpress.com/2015/12/15/youngs-winter-warmer-a-survivor-from-londons-beer-drinking-past/

Popping into the same Young’s pub, the Paternoster by the Stock Exchange, the other day I saw no Winter Warmer on the bar however so I asked. The bar person told me that a pump clip that was labelled Christmas Ale 4.5% was indeed Winter Warmer just badged for the pub.

I ordered a half pint (it was lunchtime and I was off over the road to do some union negotiations) for £2.20. Winter Warmer has been 5% for as long as I can recall so my immediate reaction was one of some doubt.

Anyway on tasting the beer was in good condition and did indeed taste much like Winter Warmer.

No, have no idea either and I will continue to keep an eye when passing Youngs Pub Co outlets to see if the traditional 5% WW is actually still about or if in the hands of Wells, as the beer now is, things have changed.

Update

Thanks for comments so far. As the note below Winter Warmer is reported in the Lamb, Lamb’s Conduit St (by Coram’s Fields in central London). Further reports welcome

3 Responses to “Whither Winter Warmer?”

  1. No sign of WW in the Calthorpe Arms either.

  2. No doubt an impact of global warming, it has been a mild winter so far

  3. I had a pint in the Lamb last Friday; tasted as good as ever.

Leave a Reply

