Welsh Labour MPs Chris Elmore & Paul Flynn head Parliamentary Beard of Year poll

In Uncategorized on November 24, 2016 by kmflett

Beard Liberation Front

Media Release

24th November

Contact Keith Flett 07803 167266

Welsh Labour MPs Elmore and Flynn head Parliamentary Beard of the Year poll


The Beard Liberation Front the informal network of beard wearers has said that for the first time two Welsh Labour MPs head the Parliamentary Beard of the Year shortlist.

Chris Elmore is a newcomer to the Parliamentary Beard of the Year being elected for Ogmore in May 2016. Paul Flynn by contrast is the veteran MP for Newport. Labour leader Jeremy Corbyn was in third place in the pre-poll which shaved the list to 10 contenders.

There were 6 Labour MPs, 4 Tory MPs and one SNP MP fighting it out for a place on the shortlist together with three Peers. The bottom four in the poll have been eliminated for the final vote from 25th November.

In 2015 Labour Leader Jeremy Corbyn just shaved SNP MP Steward McDonald for the coveted title.

The campaigners say that the award is specifically not about who has the best or most magnificent beard in Parliament. Rather it focuses on the MP or Peer who has made the most positive hirsute impact during the year.

There are now so many Parliamentarians with facial hair that a vote is held on a longlist to prune down the contenders to 10 for the final vote which starts on 25th November. The winner is announced on 9th December.

BLF Organiser Keith Flett said, While Jeremy Corbyn has been a frequent winner of the Award, the shortlist is bristling with contenders so there may well be a new Parliamentary Beard of the Year on 9th December

The vote closes at midday on 8th December


Chris Elmore (Labour)

Paul Flynn (Labour)

Jeremy Corbyn (Labour)

Kelvin Hopkins (Labour)

Lord Hylton (Crossbencher)

Lord Toby Harris (Labour)

Michael Gove (Tory)

Stephen Crabb (Tory)

Rob Wilson (Tory)

John Spellar (Labour)



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: