Welsh football star & Editor of Times Literary Supplement head Beard of the Year poll

In Uncategorized on November 24, 2016 by kmflett

Beard Liberation Front

Media Release

24th November

Contact Keith Flett 07803 167266

Welsh football star and Editor of Times Literary Supplement head Beard of the Year poll


The Beard Liberation Front the informal network of beard wearers has said that Welsh footballer Joe Ledley and the Editor of the Times Literary Supplement, Stig Abell, head the Beard of the Year 2016 poll after doing well in the longlist vote

Broadcaster Gary Lineker and tennis No.1 Andy Murray are also amongst the shortlist of contenders

In 2015 Weird Beard brewer Bryan Spooner won the vote.

The campaigners say that the award is specifically not about who has the best or most magnificent beard. Rather it focuses on the beard wearer who has made the most positive hirsute public impact during the year.

With the rise in hirsuteness there is now a longlist poll to prune down the contenders to 10 for the final vote which starts on 25th November. The winner is announced on 29th December.

BLF Organiser Keith Flett said, none of the contenders on the shortlist has won before, proof of the widening impact of beards in society.

Beard of the Year shortlist

Joe Ledley, footballer

Stig Abell, Editor, TLS

Gary Lineker, broadcaster

Simon Stevens, NHS CEO

Moeen Ali, cricketer

James O’Brien, broadcaster

Tim O’Rourke, Howling Hops brewer

Philip Wilton, cheesemaker

Andy Murray, tennis player

Jurgen Klopp, football manager



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: