Crossbench peer Lord Hylton to have another crack at Parliamentary Beard of the Year title

In Uncategorized on November 14, 2016 by kmflett

Beard Liberation Front

Media Release

14th November

Contact Keith Flett 07803 167266

Crossbench Peer, Lord Hylton to have another crack at Parliamentary Beard of the Year title


The Beard Liberation Front the informal network of beard wearers has said that with 10 days to go in the poll to decide the final shortlist for Parliamentary Beard of the Year 84 year old hereditary peer Lord Hylton is to have another crack at the title.

Lord Hylton is the longest serving crossbencher in the Lords and was one of 92 hereditary peers elected to remain in the Lords under the 1999 House of Lords Act.

This means there are now 6 Labour MPs, 4 Tory MPs and one SNP MP fighting it out for a place on the shortlist together with three Peers. The bottom four in the poll will be eliminated for a final vote from 25th November.

In 2015 Labour Leader Jeremy Corbyn just shaved SNP MP Steward McDonald for the coveted title.

The campaigners say that the award is specifically not about who has the best or most magnificent beard in Parliament. Rather it focuses on the MP or Peer who has made the most positive hirsute impact during the year.

There are now so many Parliamentarians with facial hair that a vote is held on a longlist to prune down the contenders to 10 for the final vote which starts on 25th November. The winner is announced on 9th December.

BLF Organiser Keith Flett said, I think the general view is that Lord Hylton has the most magnificent Parliamentary beard of them all and in terms of impact he is active in House of Lords affairs. Unfortunately in the past he has failed to progress to the shortlist due to failing to campaign. We are hopeful this may now change.

Jeremy Corbyn (Labour)

Stewart McDonald (SNP)

Michael Gove (Tory)

Dave Anderson (Labour)

Paul Flynn (Labour)

David Mundell (Tory)

Stephen Crabb (Tory)

Lord Toby Harris (Labour)

Lord Tony Greaves (Liberal Democrat)

Lord Hylton (crossbencher)

Kelvin Hopkins (Labour)

John Spellar (Labour)

Jon Trickett (Labour)

Rob Wilson (Tory)



One Response to “Crossbench peer Lord Hylton to have another crack at Parliamentary Beard of the Year title”

  1. I suggest the potential winner has to glitter his beard as in the video above if they wish to claim the prize.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: