Gary Lineker guaranteed a place on Beard of the Year shortlist

In Uncategorized on October 22, 2016 by kmflett

Beard Liberation Front

Media Release

22nd October

Keith Flett 07803 167266

Gary Lineker guaranteed a place on Beard of the Year shortlist


The Beard Liberation Front, the informal network of beard wearers, has said that Gary Lineker has been guaranteed a place on the shortlist when the Beard of the Year poll opens on 25th November. The result of the on-line vote is announced at the end of December each year.

The campaigners say that Lineker’s intervention in support of refugees has shown the hirsute in a positive light and Beard of the Year is an Award all about beard wearers who make a positive impact in public life.

BLF Organiser Keith Flett said, Whether Gary Lineker becomes Beard of the Year 2016 is up to voters but we thought it appropriate to at least guarantee him a place on the poll.


Beard of the Year: Winners List

2015 Bryan Spooner

2014 Conchita Wurst

2013 Gareth Malone

2012 Robin Lustig

2011 Jay Rayner

2010 Ai Wei Wei

2009 Zach de la Rocha

2008 Rowan Williams & Tom Jones

2007 Robert Plant

2006 Monty Panesar

2005 Andrew Flintoff

2004 Andrew Flintoff/Paul Mackney

2003 Robin Cook

2002 Charles Clarke

2001 Jeremy Corbyn

2000 Frank Dobson


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: