BBC man William Crawley wins St Patrick’s Day Beard of Ireland poll

In Uncategorized on March 16, 2016 by kmflett

Beard Liberation Front


Press release 16th March


Contact Keith Flett 07803 167266



The Beard Liberation Front, the informal network of beard wearers, has said that well known BBC Broadcaster William Crawley has won the Irish Beard of the Year title. He easily shaved the 2015 winnerpolitician Gerry Adams in the on-line poll

Crawley beat Adams by 50% to 33% in the vote although until the final couple of days it had not been possible to put a whisker between them

Trailing in third place was football personality Roy Keane

The BLF says that while traditionally a land of predominantly clean shaven cultures, Ireland has in recent times become something of a centre for stylish and trendy beards.

Contenders for the title in 2016 included actors, trade unionists, comedians, political activists, journalists and rugby players.

The campaigners say the poll was specifically about the impact the beard of an individual has made in Irish public life and no other factor.

BLF Organiser Keith Flett said, the last  BBC journalist to win a beard poll was former The World Tonight presenter Robin Lustig so William Crawley is in distinguished company on St Patrick’s Day. The decisive outcome of the poll is clear recognition that the beard is adding to the already considerable gravitas of his broadcasting presence.

Beard of Ireland contenders

Gerry Adams

Steve Agnew

William Crawley

David O’Doherty

David Ford

Iain Henderson

Roy Keane

John Molyneux

David Norris

Mick Wallace


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: