BBC veteran Lustig beats cricketer Panesar for Beard of Year 2012

In Uncategorized on December 28, 2012 by kmflett

Beard Liberation Front

press release 28th December

Contact keith flett      07803 167266


The Beard Liberation Front, the informal network of beard wearers, has said that veteran BBC journalist Robin Lustig has beaten England cricketer Monty Panesar for the coveted Beard of the Year 2012 Award in a race for the title by a whisker

Beer writer and author of Shakespeare’s Local Pete Brown came third

The campaign group says that Robin Lustig who has just retired after more than twenty years of presenting Radio 4’s The World Tonight has been an icon of hirsute broadcasting in a field- news journalism- that has tended towards the clean shaven, particularly on TV.

For cricketer Panesar it is not quite a return to the glory days of 2006 when he won the title outright but he may have other chances to regain his title in years to come.

Several other contenders including Hashim Amla, Brian Blessed, Roger Lloyd Pack and Robert Jay also polled well.

·    Outgoing Archbishop of Canterbury and veteran beard wearer Rowan Williams has been given a Lifetime Achievement Award

The campaign group which opposes beardism, irrational prejudice against the hirsute, says that as usual the Award focuses on those in the public eye whose beards have created a positive image during the year

BLF Organiser Keith Flett said, Of course at one level the Beard of the Year Award is a bit of seasonal fun, although there was a record poll this year. But at another level it serves to remind that diversity in appearance in public life is something to be celebrated not criticised

The joint winners of the Parliamentary Beard 2012 Award were Jeremy Corbyn MP and John Randall MP

Briefing on Beard of the Year:

2012 Beard of the Year Shortlist

Hashim Amla cricketer

Richard Bagley Editor Morning Star

Joe Berenyi Olympic athlete

Brian Blessed actor

Pete Brown author

Jeremy Corbyn Labour MP

Alisdair Gray Author

Robert Jay Lawyer

Roger Lloyd Pack Actor

Robin Lustig Broadcaster

David Mitchell Comedian

Tim Montgomerie Political Commentator

Monty Panesar  cricketer

Matt Prior cricketer

Jay Rayner critic

Michael Rosen author

Andre Villas-Boas Spurs manager

Rowan Williams Archbishop of Canterbury


Beard Liberation Front updates throughout the day @kmflett


Recent Winners of Beard of the Year

2011 Jay Rayner

2010 Ai Wei Wei

2009 Zach de la Rocha

2008 Rowan Williams & Tom Jones

2007 Robert Plant

2006 Monty Panesar



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: